Vegetarian for Picky Eaters? What the heck?

I like to eat and I’ll eat just about everything.  If I haven’t eaten it, then I’d probably try it if I could.  Because of all this, I guess, its natural for me to like eating and cooking.  Then there are my wife and child.  Don’t get me wrong, I love the two of them to death.  But they don’t like eating and cooking like I like eating and cooking.  That’s never really been a problem before, but something recently happened that has stretched my creativity to its limits.  My wife decided to become a vegetarian.

Why she did this has nothing to do with the usual reasons people become vegetarians.  She loves animals, but is OK with them being slaughtered for food as long as she doesn’t know their names or see their faces.  She is concerned about the environment, but isn’t out scouring the town for organic products grown not more than 100 miles from our home.  No, she did this for one simple reason — her health.  She has a chronic condition known as cyclic vomiting syndrome (aka CVS); yes, its a nasty little condition to have.  After struggling with controlling this condition, her doctor and her agreed that eating a vegetarian diet would be more stomach-friendly.

Becoming a vegetarian is no big deal to me.  I mean, I’ll miss bacon and steak and all other kinds of creatures that taste good when cooked properly and slathered in a good sauce.  However, it is a big deal for her.  The problem, you see, is that she does not like vegetables really.  Her ideal list of food starts with green beans, includes lettuce, and ends with carrots.  She also does not like most of the things a vegetarian could eat to balance their diet, such as eggs, potatoes, and whole grains.  This means that feeding her isn’t going to be easy.

Now enter the child.  The child has already made it clear that the child will not be a vegetarian.  The child has declared that she will continue to consume meat proteins at every meal, the more processed and unlike real food the better.  The child has also made it know that she does not like vegetables unless they come in the form of an olive, tomato, or pickle (in this case, the saltier and more vinegary the better).

I guess that its a good thing I like to cook.  This does not seem like its going to be easy, because I want a variety of foods and meals.  My wife wants green beans and my kid wants chicken-like product out of a box.  Will I succeed?  Will I go crazy?  What happens if my wife also ends up having a gluten allergy?  I don’t know, but I intend to find out.  Hopefully others will find the trip interesting too.  In the mean time, maybe we can just have some fun talking about food.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Rob O  On May 25, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    Stay away from tofurky. Trust me on this one.

    BTW I’ll have to give you a jar of the pickles I made. For some reason they are amazing.

  • Kate  On May 25, 2010 at 10:48 pm

    In another month or two, we can start talking about salty, vinegary pickles.

  • Kate  On May 25, 2010 at 10:49 pm

    (There was supposed to be a “Welcome to the blog world and a good luck with your “chopped” challenge” somewhere in my comment.)

  • Bonneau  On May 26, 2010 at 10:41 am

    Is Meryl Streep going to play your wife in the movie?

  • Martha  On May 26, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    Tofu is rather good if cooked correctly. It tends to soak up the flavor of whatever you marinate it in. Also trick your child with vegetarian hotdogs (though to be really honest, my child could not be tricked…the consistency is slightly different). Also, hummous is really good. There are so many different flavors, you could do something different every day with it. Figure out how to make it yourself, and then you’re really set.

  • sdmcclurg  On May 26, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    @Bonneau…good question. I was thinking Jessica Alba.

    @Martha…our first attempt with tofu was a disaster. I haven’t given up though! I’ll have to see about the hummous…I doubt my wife will eat it. I’ll try though.

    @RobO…JUST SAY NO TOFURKY.

  • Ellen  On May 27, 2010 at 10:20 pm

    You could try Celebration Loaf instead of Tofurky. We buy one for Greg at the holidays. It’s made of “artisan grains” and isn’t too bad. It’s stuffed with cranberries or something like that.

    Actually, the grain based meats are pretty good, and non-soy, non-grain veggie burgers are really good as well.

  • sdmcclurg  On May 28, 2010 at 6:31 am

    Celebration Loaf? Egads, is that the best name they could come up with?

Leave a Reply

