This is where it starts

I’m an early riser. I get up around 5:30 or so just so I can have enough quiet time to read a bunch of the news, feed my Facebook addiction, and mourn whatever bad decisions my favorite sports teams have made. Its also the time of day when I have to start thinking about what to eat.

So what’s for dinner tonight? The one nice thing is that unlike cooking a lot of mean, vegetarians don’t often need to plan hours in advance. You don’t need to marinate vegetables to get flavor out of them, for instance. However, I do have to think about getting the right balance of food into my picky eater’s diet. And, I have to do it in a way that satisfies my need for variety in the dishes I eat. I eat the same thing for lunch every day, so I need lots of variety at my other meals.

Inevitably, the choice of what to cook comes down to two things — what inspires me and what is available. Today I’m stuck on the first thing…I’m not inspired as yet.

So, faithful readers (HA!)…what inspires you when you’re thinking about cooking?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Angela  On May 26, 2010 at 8:01 am

    What I have in the fridge/pantry pretty much dictates what will be eaten. And, what I think the kids will eat without a fight. AND, what’s in season.

    I also read a ridiculous number of cooking blogs and consult the occasional cookbook.

  • Ellen  On May 26, 2010 at 8:49 am

    I try to plan my menus for the week and shop based on them, but I’ll often scrap the plan because what I want something different. I *love* Epicurious.com, and I’ve never been disappointed by anything I’ve tried. I like reading the suggestions of other people on how to tweak the recipes.

    Right now, though, I’m more inspired by what’s fresh in the supermarket than anything. I’d also like to roast or grill some vegetables with a little olive oil and some spices because doing so completely changes the flavor.

    One thought for Jane: dice up the veggies super small and put them in sauce or blend them in soup. There are GF pastas out there as well as quinoa, rice, lentils, etc. that you can put the sauce on.

    Enjoying your blogs!

  • Barb  On May 26, 2010 at 11:53 am

    Some fresh lemon juice on the grilled veggies is also very wonderful.

  • Jane a.k.a. Picky Eater  On May 26, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    Ellen, The veggies keep getting cut smaller and smaller. I told Scott he should puree them 🙂 He just might.

  • sdmcclurg  On May 26, 2010 at 7:37 pm

    Epicurious is wonderful, particularly because it has a great search function. I also have a book called The Flavor Book, which basically categorizes what goes with what.

    Its a James Beard Award winner, everyone should check it out: http://www.amazon.com/Flavor-Bible-Essential-Creativity-Imaginative/dp/0316118400/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1274920606&sr=1-1

  • Maureen  On May 27, 2010 at 9:56 pm

    What I have on hand and the weather are my biggest influences, if I was going to do comfort food like a nice stew or something but then I realize the weather is nice, I switch up to grilling. I also have a growing list of things to try and make so I’ll attempt whichever one sounds best if I have most or all of the ingredients.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

