A whole post about…fiber?

A really fascinating link about fiber in today’s HuffPo.  It tries to explain why Bushmen are healthier than we are, points to a new kind of “super fiber” and then gives you nine tips for increasing your soluble fiber intake.

Normally I won’t comment on links like this so much as just passing them on, but this one hits very close to the challenges we face in my home.  TPE (The Picky Eater) won’t eat a lot of things on the list in that article (can you imagine me sprinkling flax seed on her food?), but has health concerns directly related to the intake of fiber.  So I have to think about how to slip brown rice into her diet without her knowing, and forcing a blackberry down her throat.  The Child will eat berries, but no grains and nuts of course.

Creative solutions are definitely welcome!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • mrr  On May 30, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    I don’t low if TPE is a fan of yogurt with granola/fruit or muffins, but those are my two fav ways if hiding flax seed infoods for myself and the kids (whole foods and TJoes used to sell it ground, which is cheating but quicker!) cookies and ice cream also work 🙂 I also put flaxseed and various grains (and beans) in all soups and stews.

    My parents like white rice & bread, so they take the fiber supplements, but it grosses me out a bit – maybe the capsules?

  • sdmcclurg  On May 30, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    Oh, I love the idea of putting flaxseed in stews and soups. It doesn’t mess up the flavor at all?

  • Jane a.k.a. Picky Eater  On May 30, 2010 at 11:10 pm

    Slipping me things..really!

  • Maureen  On May 31, 2010 at 9:04 am

    I got myself to like brown rice by mixing it with things I like where I wouldn’t really notice the difference, like soups or other dishes packed with other flavors. Or maybe try a small ratio of brown rice mixed with white rice. For the fruit- smoothies! mix fruit liked with the ones needed for dietary requirements. Could even freeze them for a different sorbet

  • Ellen  On May 31, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    Flaxseed can be put on everything and doesn’t have much of a taste. You can add it to smoothies along with those low glycemic fruits like berries. I actually add handfuls of spinach to my berry smoothies, and you can hardly taste it.

    You might also try some sort of Greens powder. I have one my acupuncturist gave me for those days I can’t get all of my veggies in.

    Add extra pureed veggies to sauces, especially leafy green veggies. You can even add kale to lentils, and the sauce makes it taste yummy. My favorite right now is Russian kale; you add a little goat cheese, olive oil, and balsamic, and eat it like a salad. Yum!

    I grew up picky, and I realized most of it was in my head. Once I realized that the worst thing that would happen if I ate something I didn’t like was immediately spitting it out of my mouth and vomiting, I tried a lot more things.

  • mrr  On June 1, 2010 at 12:55 am

    Yep, what Ellen said about the flaxseed. And spinach, we throw greens into everyything – mostly cuz we get so many in our veg box!

    My MIL must have read the same piece, she unpacked some nuts and apricots from her suitcase yesterday, chopped them up and started sprinkling the hi fiber (and iron) topping on everything. (although the boys are trying to eat it all straight up as a snack.)

Leave a Reply

