She almost ate a potato!

Tonight was another “3 people, 3 dinners” thing, but it wasn’t really that bad.  The Kid had some sort of pre-packaged corn dog thing; TPE had leftovers from last night along with a leafy salad.

In other words, I only needed to feed myself.  That’s fine by me because I like everything and this gives me a chance to try out new things.  My mind immediately focused in on “Indian food,” so I decided to dig into my now-trusty copy of Deborah Madison’s book for a recipe.  The recipe is more “Indian-like” than Indian, but it had the added appeal of not being too spicy (which meant TPE would at least try it).  The recipe itself is simple enough — some potatoes, cauliflower, onion, greens, and shredded carrots, all of which was covered with a fairly basic spice mixture.

Anyway, after the ladies sat down and began to enjoy their various dinners, I told TPE that she should check my dish and see if it was something she might like.  Her immediate reaction was…a disgusted face and a “what is in it?”  (This isn’t personal…I don’t think).  My dilemma…lead with the cauliflower, onion, or the dreaded potatoes?

You see, TPE doesn’t eat potatoes.  Well, that’s not quite right.  She eats french fries and tolerates a new recipe I’ve used for potato croquettes, but she will not under any other circumstances eat a POTATO! (Or, so she thinks…if you catch my drift.)

Given these circumstances, I led with onion and then cauliflower.  And she didn’t blow chunks, spit on me, or hand over the divorce papers.  She even offered a, “I could eat that…not bad” comment!  But then I blew it by saying, “Hey, maybe you’ll like potatoes in this!”  She tried.  She really did.  But it was a failure.  Let’s just say that the poor piece of potato that I gave her came back gnarled with its soul no longer in tact. I was…THIS…CLOSE!

But, I live to fight another day.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Angela  On May 31, 2010 at 7:55 pm

    NO POTATOES? Oh, that would be a big problem here! Those and greens are my go-to vegetable. The Indian recipes in VCE are pretty good . . . Madhur Jaffery is even better – check out “World Vegetarian” for great Indian (and other) recipes.

  • Jen Wilton  On May 31, 2010 at 11:36 pm

    Maybe she has a nightshade vegetable allergy. No, I am serious. Does she like eggplant or tomato? They are all nightshade. Sometimes we don’t ‘like’ things because they make us feel bad… maybe Jane is on to something?

    Anyway, I have some good Indian-ish recipes, even one with no potato! I will shoot it your way.

  • sdmcclurg  On June 1, 2010 at 6:48 am

    @Angela…no potatoes is a huge travesty in my humble, Scot-Irish opinion.

    @Jen…she likes tomato just fine, but objects to eggplant on the grounds that it is a vegetable and not a green bean.

  • Jane a.k.a. Picky Eater  On June 5, 2010 at 7:05 pm

    I so am trying to like potatoes, but can’t. And my sweet husband failed to mention I only like tomato sauce. Tomatos cut up..icky!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

