Don’t Be Galled by Galettes!

After savoring the leftovers from my Father’s Day feast yesterday, I was looking forward to getting back in the kitchen today.  That’s especially the case because I’ll be spending some time out of the kitchen again for the next few days and I wanted to use up some of our ingredients that weren’t going to make it much longer.  I finished up work a bit on the early side and planned to make an elaborate dinner when I got home.

For once, things went according to plan.  I was intent on using the remainder of our button mushrooms and baby portabella mushrooms.  In perusing my cookbooks, the one thing that caught my eye was a recipe for a galette.  I’ve never made a galette before and I’m not smart enough to avoid pastry crusts in the middle of the week, regardless of whether it means dinner will be a disaster.  So undaunted, I decided to jump into this dish with one small change — I’d add some white beans.  TPE hadn’t really had any protein (save for cheese) the past few days, I figured it was a good idea to add some in.

Much to my surprise, the galette is easy.  (TAKE THAT PASTRY CRUST!  HA!)  The dough is simple, easy to use, and very tasty.  It also has a lot of butter in it, so healthy it is not.  But we don’t eat them every night and you only live once, so I embraced the butter this evening.  The base of the dough is a cup of flour, two teaspoons of sugar, a pinch of salt, and 6 TB of butter cut in (yeah, I said 6 TB).  After you get the crumbled texture you’re looking for, you start sprinkling ice water until a ball forms.  Let it sit and you’re ready to go!

The crust is very flexible and you can put just about anything in it after you roll it out.  You can go savory, as I did this evening; you can go sweet, with poached fruit or even a fruit-cheese mixture.  And the beauty of a galette, according to a cookbook of mine, is that the rough edges add to the charm.   The filling tonight was onions cooked in olive oil with fresh rosemary, mushrooms, and some white beans.  There is a sauce that includes tomato paste, red pepper flakes (more on this in a second), broth, and Dijon mustard.  You could clearly add cheese and any sort of herbs as well.  (Note: The basic recipe comes from Deborah Madison’s cookbook.  The white beans were my idea…I know, real impressive to add beans, huh?)

I served mine with some fresh broccoli and cucumbers, for a meal that I’d say was pretty good.  The problem was that TPE apparently does not tolerate any heat in her food.  And when I say “any”, I mean it.  There couldn’t have been 1/4 TSP of red pepper flakes in the dish and it came into the cooking process very early on, so it was a real background flavor to the dish.  However, she alternatively accused me of making her face go numb and trying to poison her.  So the dish was a success, but the meal was not unfortunately.

What did TPE end up eating?  Lasagna of course.

But I won’t give up!  I’ll find something for the galettes that won’t make her gag.  I’m already pondering Madison’s suggestion of leeks and goat cheese.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • mrr  On June 23, 2010 at 6:51 pm

    So brave – pastry again!! Do you think it would work with whole wheat flour?

    And for the record, I’m with TPE all the way on this one, red pepper flakes are WAY too much in any quantity. But that sauce should be fine without red pepper; one of my standby easy meals involves onions, diced tomatos, dijon mustard, and some meat (chicken, shrimp or tofu) of choice simmered for a while into a sauce and then served over pasta. Original came from the Scarsdale diet cookbook, believe it or not. But it is always a hit.

  • sdmcclurg  On June 24, 2010 at 8:58 am

    I bet it would work with whole wheat; I found a gluten free version, so the type of flour doesn’t seem to matter. And its EASY!

    That sauce sounds good, particularly with the mustard. Yum.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

