I miss my grill

I miss my grill.

I consider myself fairly handy over both charcoal and gas, especially when it comes to getting a nice crust and appropriately cooked bird to appear from under its hood.  I love keeping the heat from cooking outside, where it belongs in summer, and the exhilaration of coming inside to the air conditioning after standing in the humid pressure cooker outside.  Yet, I’ve not touched my grill even once this summer for a spot of cooking.

I know you can grill vegetables.  However, TPE is not a fan of vegetables in chunks.  She prefers her vegetables in nearly invisible form, so that she can’t possibly know what she’s eating (until I tell her) and that its impossible for her to pick it out.  That’s hardly a demand that fits well with the needs of grilling.  Although it tends to bring out the sweetness of the vegetables, small chunks obviously don’t do well on the grill.  Plus, the vegetables that really do best on the grill — namely things like eggplant — are on the list of “things to give TPE when I’m feeling like being disappointed after cooking for two hours.”  Its scary to someone like her.

So I miss the flavor, the experience, and the grill.  Once Fall gets here, I guess I’ll overcome that feeling with roasted vegetables.  This is one sacrifice I hadn’t planned on making.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Angela  On July 16, 2010 at 7:46 am

    Grill pizza. It’s one of our favorites when it’s hot. Or corn? Not sure if corn is on the list of accepted foods.

  • M&M  On July 17, 2010 at 9:02 am

    Can you grill the veggies outside before cutting them up to make them “near invisable”? then you get the flavors of the grilled veggies without chunks of them. I love the pizza idea (I might have to wait till I get a gas grill to ensure even temperature) but you can also grill fruits to go into a dessert.

  • Lara  On July 17, 2010 at 11:43 am

    I wonder about grilling veggies and THEN cutting them up after the fact. I roast red peppers in the oven sometimes and then cut them up to go in a lentil salad. They’re a bit slippery, but it’s worth the effort (especially over the jarred roasted red peppers I can find around here).

  • sdmcclurg  On July 19, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    @Angela…I have not forgotten your grilled pizza!

    @Mo…grilled veggies aren’t fun to handle, but maybe we’ll try. I like Lara’s idea of the lentil salad.

  • Lara  On July 21, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    Don’t know if this is the right way to post it, but here is the recipe:

    Lentil Salad with Mint, Roasted Peppers and Feta cheese
    Adapted from The Greens Cookbook by Deborah Madison

    1 ½ cups small French lentils
    1 medium carrot, finely diced
    ½ small onion, finely diced
    1 bay leaf
    1 clove garlic
    ½ tsp. salt
    2 medium bell peppers
    Lemon Vinaigrette
    1 tsp. mint
    3 tbsp. chopped mixed herbs (parsley, cilantro, thyme)
    Pepper
    Red wine vinegar
    8 oz. feta cheese

    Cover the lentils generously with water and bring to a boil with the carrot, onion, bay leaf and garlic. Simmer 20-25 minutes, until tender. Drain.

    Roast the red peppers in the oven. (I do 10-20 minutes in a 500 degree oven, with oil on the peppers.) Then put peppers into a covered bowl and let steam for 10 minutes. Peel skins off peppers and cut into small squares.

    Prepare the vinaigrette as follows:

    Juice and peel of one lemon
    ¼ tsp. paprika
    Pinch cayenne pepper
    1 clove garlic, finely minced
    ¼ tsp. salt
    6-8 tbsp. olive oil

    Pour over warm lentils and mix with mint, herbs, and peppers. Taste and season with black pepper and salt to taste. Taste again before serving and add a little red wine vinegar to brighten the flavors. Crumble in the feta cheese and stir into the lentils.

    You can take lots of short cuts such as using pre-roasted peppers, dried spices, bottled lemon juice and lemon zest. It still turns out yummy with half of the work! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

