Pressure

With apologies to Billy Joel…

I’m contemplating my next kitchen acquisition (with my desired gas stove being on the back burner, so-to-speak).  The one that’s been in my mind is a pressure cooker.  But I have to admit that I’m somewhat at a loss as to what I’d do with it, vegetarian or not.  Who among you has one, uses one, and uses it for for what?

If I can’t get an answer for that, then I’ll just have to ask for a (small) juicers along with my power tools this year at Christmas.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Kate  On August 16, 2010 at 8:36 am

    I know that people use pressure cookers for rice/beans/etc – we use ours for canning. We are totally old ladies though.

  • sdmcclurg  On August 16, 2010 at 9:14 am

    Well, Paul is anyway.

  • me  On August 17, 2010 at 3:40 pm

    I have been pondering getting one too. In Cuba my friends use it to toast fresh coffee beans. I would never do that.

  • sdmcclurg  On August 17, 2010 at 7:40 pm

    What would you do with it…other than toast beans? I mean, I know what I want to do with it if I have a bunch of tripe I’m looking to get rid of. But how often will I be using tripe? 😉

  • me  On August 17, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    Well, I am still a meat eater so I thought it would be good for things like “ropa vieja” or any tougher cut of meat. But it is not enough of a multi-tasker for me to get it and I do not make that much meat anyway.

Leave a Reply

