Tofu Success!

Despite not feeling well, TPE wanted dinner last night. Perusing the ingredients in the fridge and taking TPEs request for something light into account, I settled on a stir fry. Since become vegetarians, these are the moments where I have attempted to make tofu edible. These moments have not turned out well, both for different reasons.

In search of a recipe that would appeal to TPEs palate, I settled on one in Deborah Madison’s cookbook (what a godsend this book is!) that called for fried tofu that was then glazed in soy sauce and brown sugar. Let me tell you…this was the way to make tofu. I’m not crazy about the idea of frying it all the time, but this gives it some very nice texture and the glaze gives it a nice flavor. When its hot its a little crunchy, a little chewy, and almost a little gooey on the inside. I won’t be messing with tofu anymore because this is how I’m going to cook it (perhaps with other glazes however).

It it occurs to me while writing it that there is no reason why tofu must be used almost exclusively with Asian cuisines. I know that’s tradition because the roots of tofu are Asian, but with my new insight on frying and flavoring it I can see applications for it. Some time in the next couple of weeks, I think I’m going to experiment with it in Mexican cuisine. Properly fried and seasoned, I could see it in a burrito. Whatcha think?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Angela  On August 21, 2010 at 12:17 pm

    Burritos are a good idea. You can make tofu “meat”balls. You can make a curry or stew (like sauteed tofu and mushroom stroganoff for example). You can do anything with tofu. Madison also wrote a cookbook called “I Can’t Believe This Is Tofu” or something like that. It’s not super long and in softcover – I bet you could find it used on Amazon. There is also another cookbook that we like – “A Year in a Vegetarian Kitchen” written by one of the Cook’s Illustrated guys (the one that does the taste tests). He uses tofu in wraps of all types. The book is organized by season which (I believe) will appeal to you. Scott really likes cooking from that book.

  • Jane a.k.a. Picky Eater  On August 21, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    It was really good. I am very interested to see what Scott attempts next. I feel like I have my own personal chef! Love It!

  • Lara  On August 23, 2010 at 11:59 am

    I’ve used tofu in a kind of sloppy joe style. I know you can make the famous “tofu scramble” but it never really appeals. And I’ve even baked brownies with tofu – they were quite moist and yummy. Come to think of it, I think there are a number of desserts you can make with tofu…

  • sdmcclurg  On August 23, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    I can totally seeing using tofu in a desert application. The texture would be fine there and its flavor (such as it is) is completely inoffensive in that scenario.

Leave a Reply

